Chicano Eats — Estaban Castillo

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

Great recipe book!!! Made 4 of the recipes so far, and everything came out way better than I expected!!

Chicano Eats is a bicultural cookbook, including 85 traditional Mexican recipes made by Chicanos, i.e., Mexican Americans. The book is beautifully done, packed with stunning, mouth-watering photos, and easy to follow recipes that taste even better than they look!

Pozole Blanco.

This is the Pozole Blanco I made from Chicano Eats. It was a hit with my kids, and now they don’t want it any other way!


Sip and Spin

Pair this book with the perfect drink and soundtrack

Pair it with:

Photo cred. Chicanoeats.com

La Paloma

It’s one of my favorite cocktails from the book! Sipping on one of Esteban’s refreshing Palomas while cooking up something delicious for dinner is the perfect mix.

Pair it with:

Chelo Grande Exitos Boleros De Oro

Esteban mentions a couple different artists in the introduction, but Chelo stood out to me because she is one of my grandma’s favorites, and this brought back memories of my grandma requesting Chelo on the Jukebox every time we went to a Mexican resteraunt.

“… he was spending his evening after work listening to old cassette tapes that he’d buy en el swapmeet, featuring musicians like Chelo, Jilguerillas, and Pedrito Fernandez, reminiscing about the life he left behind when he came to the US, …”

Esteban Castillo in Chicano Eats

Amazon Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Interest Level: Adult

Release Date: June 29, 2020

Available formats: book, ebook

Harcover: 224 pages

Loved having the hardcover at hand when I cooked up one of these delicious recipes. A must have addition to any recipe book collection!

Check it out for yourself:

https://amzn.to/47BV0Iw

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I get credit for any purchases made through my links! Amazon in no way influences my book choices or reviews. All my reviews are originally mine!

Published by Jennifer Alaniz-Garcia

Hi, my name is Jen, and along with my husband and our 3 crazy nature loving kids, 12, 10, and 7! We live in the Central Valley of sunny California, and love to enjoy the wonder and beauty of the nature that surrounds us. We hope you will join us as we blog about the places we visit and the adventures and memories that await right outside your door. My goal is to inspire you to get outdoors and try something new with your family, and to create lasting memories that I hope you will share with us as well! -Thanks for reading, Jen

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started